By Reward Okafor

Multiple award winning journalist and publisher of UBULU EZEMU online publishing platform, Anthony Awunor was recognised as The Aviation Writer of The Year 2021 at the 15th Nigeria Media Nite-Out Award (NMNA). 

The annual award ceremony, which was held at the Lagos Airport Hotel, on 19th September, 2021 witnessed the crème-de-la-crème of the society, especially key players in politics, business, entertainment, property, banking, ICT, media and others.

Awunor, who is also THEWILL Newspaper Aviation Writer was announced as winner after his nomination alongside four other journalists from Guardian, Tribune, Leadership and Daily Telegraph. 

After receiving the award, which was presented by Attai Oguche, Marketing Manager, TECNO Nigeria, Awunor commended the NMNA organisers for their objectivity and due diligence in picking him as the winner.   
He also dedicated the award to God Almighty and to the Publisher of THEWILL Newspaper, Austyn Ogannah who provided the platform under which he was recognised. 

“I am very pleased to be recognised this way. I thank the organisers of this event and most especially their objectivity in picking the winners for this prestigious award. I dedicate the award to God and my Publisher, Mr Austyn Ogannah”, Awunor said.

Top personalities who were honoured with different categories of awards include: Governor of Lagos State, Babajide Sanwo-Olu who won the the best in  infrastructural developments and Governor of Borno State, Professor Babagana Zulum who was also recognised with an award for his relentless contribution to the security of lives and property in his state. This is in addition to other State Governors who went home with different categories of awards. 

Also, Mrs Susan Akporiaye, President National Association of Nigeria Travel Agencies (NANTA), won the Nigeria Media Platinum Merit Award for her leadership and resilience in keeping the nigerian  travel trade business together despite the impact of COVID 19 pandemic on global travel and tourism.

Similarly, Journalists Hangout anchored by investigative journalist and historian, Babajide Otitoju won an award in the best TV programme category. 

Other organisations that also got different categories of award include Arise TV, TVC, Enugu State Television (ESTV), Benue State Television, Naija FM, Sobi FM, TECHNO Nigeria etc.

NMNA was put together by the convener, Sola Olugbemiro, a publisher and media consultant of repute. Speaking on the selection of the awardees, Olugbemiro stated that the awardees were picked due to their dexterity and dedication, as well as their outstanding contributions to their various fields.

PHOTO: Marketing Manager, TECNO Nigeria, Attai Oguche presenting the award to the publisher, Anthony Awunor

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email